Chicago Trip + Lollapalooza

So, “The Boyfriend” and I went to Chicago two weeks ago, but I figure this post is better late than never 😉

We went specifically for Lollapalooza (aka Coldplay), but I’ve always wanted to visit Chicago, especially since I’m a secret fan of Giuliana Rancic and her TV show 😀

We flew into Chicago at 8am on a Friday morning, and went directly to our hotel to change into our sightseeing/Lollapalooza clothes, since we’d be gone all day.

       

Since we were in Chicago for such a short time, “The Boyfriend” was amazing and planned out our top restaurant/bar/tourist destinations and how to get there!

First, we went to Lou Mitchell’s for breakfast.

   

I had an egg sandwich with some of the fluffiest eggs I’ve ever had!

Next, we headed to the Museum of Science and Industry where we toured a green house (super cool. I wish I lived in that house!), watched baby chicks hatch, and raced hot air balloons.

 

At this point, I was starving, so we made a quick pit stop at Potbelly’s for a delicious chocolate shake and sandwiches (salad for me!) before heading to the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Robie House.

   

After the Frank Lloyd Wright tour, we made a mad dash to catch our train back into the city for Lollapalooza!

 

  

“The Boyfriend” and I have seen Coldplay in concert together before, but it was an amazing experience to stand in Grant Park in the middle of Chicago so close to the stage!

 

The next morning we were up bright and early to eat at Xoco – a Rick Bayless restaurant. Ever since “The Boyfriend” and I saw the first season of Top Chef Masters, we’ve dreamed of eating at one his restaurants in Chicago.

    

We shared a plantain empanada, and then I had the huevos rancheros while “The Boyfriend” had the chilaquiles.

    

We each had a glass of “Bean-to-Cup Chocolate” – heaven! And we ended with a churro 🙂

After breakfast, we headed towards the Navy Pier for a river architecture cruise. This was one of my favorite parts of the trip, and I have hundreds of pictures from the boat ride (don’t worry, I’ll only post a few :))

  

  

After the river cruise, we wandered around the (HUGE) Navy Pier before walking back into the city for lunch.

We went to Gino’s for some Chicago deep dish pizza. These babies took 45 minutes to bake, but it was worth it!

  

After lunch we walked on Michigan Ave to do some shopping, and then we headed over to the Sears (Willis) Tower to go to the top and take pictures of the entire city. Note: I’m afraid of heights, so this part was slightly painful.

   

I was put in charge of choosing our Saturday night dinner spot, so after much searching on Opentable, I decided on Hub 21 – a supposed “hot spot.” We had pre dinner drinks at The Palmer House before making our way to Hub 21.


Hub 21’s menu was huge, and ecclectic, and there was a club/lounge downstairs. It seemed to be a choice for bachelorette and birthday parties….I felt like I was back in my hometown looking for a place to go out. The food was good, but the restaurant was super noisy and crowded.

We went out with a bang for our final meal in Chicago. We went to NoMI in the Park Hyatt Chicago for brunch….and it was uh-mazing!

We sat at a table in the balcony section of the photo below – we had beautiful views of Chicago/Michigan Ave!

  

After brunch, we went back to our hotel to gather our luggage and head to the airport. Our Chicago weekend was a whirlwind trip, but I’m so glad we managed to cram so many experiences into the time we had 🙂

Next up: West Palm Beach for Labor Day – I can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

