Uptown, Downtown, and Midtown

This was a whirlwind weekend that included meals and drinks everywhere from the Upper East Side to Battery Park.

Here’s a quick snap shot:

  • Lunch at Angelo’s of Mulberry Street – Little Italy
  • Drinks and snacks at the Top of the Standard – Meatpacking District
  • Drinks at Brandy’s Piano Bar – Upper East Side
  • Brunch at David Burke Kitchen – Soho
  • War Horse at Lincoln Center – Upper West Side
  • Dinner at Shun Lee – Upper West Side

I’ll dedicate a complete post to David Burke Kitchen later 🙂

Angelo’s of Mulberry Street is my favorite restaurant in Little Italy, and one of my faves in the city in general.

“The Boyfriend’s” dad was visiting over the weekend, so we decided to bring him to Angelo’s. We ordered some red wine, and I ordered the rigatoni vodka – it was perfection!

After walking around Soho, we headed to the Top of the Standard for drinks and snacks. I’ve already posted about the Standard, so I’ll just include some new photos below.

  

That night, “The Boyfriend” and I met up with some friends at Brandy’s Piano Bar. I’ve never been to a piano bar in the six years that I’ve lived in NYC, and I was clearly missing out!

This place was so much fun! There’s a piano player, and the servers and bartenders take turns singing – everything from the Beatles to Lady Gaga. Even more fun than karaoke; we were all singing away at the tops of our lungs while enjoying reasonably priced cocktails 😉

Easter Sunday we had brunch at David Burke Kitchen (post to come). We then headed uptown to Lincoln Center to see War Horse.

From the Lincoln Center web site:

“War Horse travels from the verdant English countryside to the fields of France and Germany at the outbreak of World War I. A boy’s beloved horse has been sold to the cavalry and shipped to France. Caught up in enemy fire, the horse serves on both sides of the war, and survives an odyssey that leaves him alone in no-man’s land. The boy, now a young man, cannot forget his horse, and embarks on a treacherous mission to find him and bring him home…..

There are breathing, galloping, charging horses on the stage – their flanks, hides and sinews built of steel, leather and aircraft cables. They are life-size puppets strong enough for men to ride. And that’s just one element of this imaginative epic.”

  

After the show, we went to Shun Lee for dinner. “The Boyfriend” and I had been here before seeing the restaurant in Wall Street 2, but I felt even cooler this time 🙂

I ordered the vegetable pan friend noodles (healthy, I know) and the vegetable spring rolls. Yummm!

I have spent way too much time eating out and not enough time working out!

I just signed up for the week of unlimited classes at Bari Studio, so hopefully that will help whip me back into shape  😉

Hope everyone has a great week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Uptown, Downtown, and Midtown

  1. Pingback: As Promised: David Burke Kitchen | The Manhattanista

Leave a Reply

