Hummus Kitchen + Penelope + Commerce

Each of these delightful restaurants definitely deserves their own post, but for the sake of time (and keeping all 5 of my readers’ attention), I’m going to combine them.

Last Thursday a friend and I went to Hummus Kitchen in Murray Hill…a stone’s throw away from my apartment AND BYOB! The menu consists of Mediterranean cuisine…think hummus, falafel, and kebabs.

I ordered the falafel wrap, which had falafel with hummus, chopped salad, and pickles topped with tahini. My only complaint was the pickles. It was $7.95, and we brought a bottle of wine with us. All in all, fresh, healthy food at amazingly reasonable prices. Practically next to my apartment. What more could I ask for??

On Friday night “The Boyfriend” and I had Penelope for dinner. This is also approximately five seconds from my apartment 😉

I obviously eat out a lot…

We have eaten breakfast, lunch, and dinner here about 900 times since I moved into my apartment three years ago. The food is absolutely fantastic – fresh and homemade. My only complaint is that they don’t take reservations, and it is nearly impossible to get in for breakfast/brunch unless you camp out on the doorstep on the weekends.

That night I was craving comfort food after a tough week at work. I ordered the grilled three cheese with swiss, fontina, and white american on sourdough. I have ordered almost everything vegetarian on this menu, and I have never been disappointed. For dessert we shared a slice of the carrot cake with ginger cream cheese frosting. Delish!

The atmosphere is super relaxed and homey – check out the mismatched cups and messages imbedded on the tables.

On Sunday, a friend and I met up for brunch at Commerce in the West Village. If you saw any of my tweets from Sunday, you know I am OBSESSED!

Commerce Street is the cutest street I’ve ever seen, and I want to move there tomorrow. Seriously.

The restaurant was casual, and the food was to die for! I was starving after some early morning yoga, so I decided to forgo my usual eggs and ordered the German pancake. I am kicking myself for not taking a picture! Use your visualization skills here – it was as big as my full sized plate and about two inches thick. Amazingggg! And it came with whipped butter and maple syrup. Yum!

So far this week I have some Physique57 and gym time on the schedule. I’ll just have to see where the rest of the week takes me!

Happy eating and working out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hummus Kitchen + Penelope + Commerce

  1. Pingback: I Want to Move into Commerce…and the West Village | The Manhattanista

Leave a Reply

