No Willpower: Abe & Arthur’s

I had a work dinner on Thursday night at Abe & Arthur’s. It was my second time there, and I was determined not to become one of it’s followers – you know, people who only go to restaurants and bars in the Meat Packing District.

Well I certainly don’t limit my eating and drinking to the MPD, but I did have a fantastic second experience there 😉


We had a great booth on the first floor (I’ve noticed that larger groups tend to get better tables than parties of two), and the six of us fit comfortably without having to sit on top of each other.

We ordered cocktails and wine, both of which were delicious. When we needed help selecting a red wine, a manager came over to assist us.

We started with several appetizers:

  • Tuna tartare tacos
  • Grilled octopus
  • Jumbo lump blue crab cakes
  • Black angus sliders
  • Oysters
  • Caesar salad
  • Satur Farm’s baby field greens


Those tuna tacos were to die for, especially with the guacamole!

When some of us were having trouble deciding what to order, the Executive Chef came to our table to walk us through the menu and answer our questions. I thought this was fabulous considering how large the restaurant is, and I always thought of it as being pretentious.

I ordered the grilled halibut as my entree. The web site describes the dish as meyer lemon gremolata, piquillo peppers, and pine nuts. The fish was grilled well, and the flavors from the little “stew” on the plate gave it a little something extra.

We also ordered the  wild mushroom risotto with parmigiano-reggiano for the table. Butter + cheese = perfection!

For dessert we ordered:

  • French toast bread pudding
  • Spiced pear cobbler
  • Carnival for two (warm ricotta doughnuts and funnel cake)

Sorry no pictures 😦 I thought that might be a little unprofessional.

All in all, I had a fabulous night at Abe & Arthur’s, and I think it’s a great group dinner or special occasion spot!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

