Food, Fitness, and Fun!

This weekend was a whirlwind of food, fitness, and fun – hence the name of this post πŸ™‚

Maya

After some gym action on Friday, “The Boyfriend” and I had dinner at Maya on the Upper East Side. Maya is a Richard Sandoval restaurant and a favorite of ours! Being from California, we’ve had a hard time finding authentic Mexican food (or even Mexican food that’s not super cheesy, like Blockeads. Sorry guys!).

I like a margarita as much as the next girl πŸ˜‰ so I ordered a mango margarita on the rocks, and we started with some guacamole. THEN – drumroll please – I tried mahi mahi for the first time! As a vegetarian, I am EXTREMELY picky when it comes to trying/eating fish. It cannot smell/taste/resemble a fish in any way, or I refuse to eat it.

Since my description won’t do my dish justice, here’s a description from the restaurant’s web site: citrus marinated mahi mahi with wild mushroom, chile poblano potato puree, huitlacoche, chile chipotle aioli, and panel cheese. Delish! It tasted what I imagine grilled chicken to taste like, though I haven’t had chicken in four years πŸ˜‰

Mercer Kitchen

“The Boyfriend” and I L-O-V-E Jean Georges restaurants: Nougatine, Jean Georges, Spice Market. And now we can add Mercer Kitchen to The List.

The restaurant is a converted catacomb, and it is beautiful! You can see the shadows of people walking on the sidewalk above, and the dim lighting and purple leather made the space feel romantic and cozy – despite it’s size and the fact that it was 12pm on a Saturday.

I ordered the blood orange mimosa (yum!) and the buttermilk pancakes with berries and bananas. My drink was delicious, but my pancakes were slightly overcooked. “The Boyfriend” raved about the Mercer Burger and his ginger margarita (it was fantastic!), and some of the pizzas I saw were drool-worthy. Our server was attentive without rushing us; we were able to sip our lattes without feeling uncomfortable.

I would still recommend the restaurant, and I would love to go again.

Lair Lounge

Saturday night my coworker threw her birthday party at Lair Lounge. Two words: awesome music!

Despite the slight hassle of getting in, and the “mandatory” coat check ($3 per coat, and half the bar had their coats on), the space was cool, and the music was even better!

My friend had a table like the one above, and we spent the night chatting, dancing, and enjoying bottle service! I’d visit Lair again for a special event or birthday party.

I know I said “fitness” in the title of this post, but you’ll just have to stay tuned for my next post πŸ˜‰

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

