Fly away at Flywheel

I was feeling like I was the only girl in NYC who hadn’t tried spinning, so I took a leap of faith and signed myself up for a class at Flywheel Sports.

But, since I’m such a planner and like to know exactly what I’m getting myself into, I had to do tons of research first: I stalked Soul Cycle and Flywheel’s web sites, compared prices, looked at photos, and read an article in the New York Times.

So let’s get down to it. How was Flywheel? It was awesome!

I like to think I’m in pretty good shape. I work out 3-4 times a week mixing cardio and strength training. How silly of me. I didn’t realize how intense and full body this workout would be – but all in positive ways!

I took a 6:30pm class on a Tuesday night with Aleah and secured myself a bike in the back. I love the online sign up where you can see the studio and choose your own bike. I also love love that shoe rentals are free! The shoes in the size I specified were waiting for me in a little cubby when I arrived – great start to the night.

Another plus? The free bottles of water. And the free towels. And the free lockers. Basically, it was the perfect first spinning experience.

The stadium lay out made it easy to see the instructor and the upbeat music helped me push through when I thought my legs were going to fall off (which would have been quite a feat considering they were all but attached to the bike).

I liked that there was an arms sequence at the end of the class (I’m really trying to tone my upper body since I feel like I spend most of my energy on the treadmill, or the bike in this case). And I also appreciated that the lights were off because I was dripping sweat. Literally. I don’t think I’ve ever sweat that much.

Moral of the story? It was a great workout that left me feeling oddly energized. I was even brave enough to sign up for a 5 class package ha!

To be fair, this was my first spinning experience. Does anyone else out there have a studio they can’t live without?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fly away at Flywheel

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fly away at Flywheel | The Manhattanista -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

